I Am the Zookeeper, from Segue

September 14, 2009 at 5:50 pm | Posted in Writing: Poems | Leave a comment
Tags:

I Am the Zookeeper

published in Segue 8

 

Wild animals don’t belong

in domestic settings,

monkeys stick their fingers

where they don’t belong,

hungry lions will jump any fence,

& bears stink on purpose.

I am the zookeeper.

My body smells of feces

& blood

& I like it.

 

I am the zookeeper.

I fell in love with a flea

that lived in a fine

& private place.

My love was deep.

My love was like a man

driving toward distant

mountains, released from time,

& abiding.

One day I scratched myself

under an ancient lightbulb

& caught my flea.

From under my nail she lept

& went toward the cages.

Every wild thing runs for shelter,

every tame thing, too.

I weep

& send her my love.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

